Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Scarlatti G/C Melodeon Wood  (Read 5264 times)

Kristof

• Jan Kristof Schliep
Scarlatti G/C Melodeon Wood
« on: November 21, 2013, 09:21:38 PM »

Hi,

I found a wooden 2-row G/C-Meldodeon made by Scarlatti on Amazon (.de) for less than the price of the Scarlatti Nero. I thought about lower price but wood vs. bass coupler but black "plastic". The wood won :-) "Less the price" means in this case: I payed € 305,- because of "little mistakes on the surface" that I haven't found yet …

First I have to say that I started playing the melodeon a few weeks ago on a very (very) old "Galotta" in G/C that I got at eBay for € 30,-. I didn't expect much. It was a bit out of tune, was not completely air tight … but I was able to learn the first tunes from the melodeon school of Yann Dour. So all comparisons are based on this Galotta - and on the sound of "Naragonia" and other groups. And I'm also a professional opera singer and also play swedish and german bagpipes, guitar, ukulele, flute, recorder, singing saw and a little hurdy gurdy. For a few years I used to play the saxophone, too. That makes no melodeon expert of me, but I know a bit about instruments    ;)

The wooden Scarlatti is a really nice instrument. I didn't find any plastic pieces exept the buttons (and the bass strap wheelythingy), the feet are from rubber - it's good in tune, air tight, not too heavy … Also on the inside there is no plastic, the bellow frames are made from wood, too. I opened it for two reasons: If I would have found pieces that I dont like, I would have sent it back - and in case everything is fine I wanted to tape the third of the e major chord, what I did. Why do they have e major chords anyway? There is no g# on the instrument, but a lot of g's …