Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: anything but Irish, English, Scottish, or American  (Read 5311 times)

finnhorse

anything but Irish, English, Scottish, or American
« on: November 02, 2008, 12:18:44 PM »

I'm wondering if anyone else in the forum listens to box music from countries outside France, Britain, or the USA and could make a recommendation.  I'd like to find some recordings of music from other countries to see how those people are using various systems, and maybe pick or adapt up a few tunes.  After following the Club topic in the Teaching and Learning forum, it struck me how versatile the instrument could be, and how limited I make myself by virtue of what I listen to.  I started learning standards recently, and have broadened my playing with the more common waltzes.  Also took to listening to some old Schrammel (which isn't necessarily diatonic), but outside of that I really don't know where to look for diatonic box music in other styles. 

Austrian, Dutch, Japanese, Czech, Patagonian, Norwegian, Cubano, whatever... in a million sub-genres of rock and roll or Anglo folk music I could find a starting point to steer someone in the right direction.  But I'm totally lost here... all suggestions welcome.

edit:  I feel *almost* totally lost.  I'm crawling some of the earlier pages in the mel.net Recordings and Videos forum and there are good youtube links.  I guess what I'm looking for are direct recommendations of CD's or LP's that anyone here could recall off-hand.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2008, 12:37:54 PM by finnhorse »

Québécois

• Accordez-vous donc, c'est si beau, l'accordéon!
« Last Edit: November 02, 2008, 04:23:24 PM by qubcois »
Hohner Morgane D/G, pre-Erica Hohner in C/F, HA112 in C,
riced-up de-branded Ariette, Hohner Erica A/D

squeezebox63