Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Jamming with guitarists etc  (Read 2342 times)

Roland OBrien

Jamming with guitarists etc
« on: August 26, 2012, 06:48:12 PM »

I've been jamming with some friends who play guitar, mandolin, ukulele (plus occasional fiddle). I am a virtual beginner on melodeon so at the moment I'm just picking out a few melody notes to add to the mix. My melodeon's a D/G. If they are playing in D or G I can usually find a few sympathetic notes that help fill out the sound. The tunes are usually simple 3 chord ones (roots type music).

It's more difficult if they are playing in C, F, A or E (which happens quite frequently). I've a couple of questions  (bear with me, I hardly know a thing about musical theory, but am trying to learn).

1. With a D/G melodeon should I be able to contribute at least some right hand notes, when they are playing in these other keys?
2. In these other keys, should I be able to add some bass notes?

If the answers are "yes", at least I know it's worth my while spending some time trying to figure out some accompanyments. Any tips would be very welcome.

boxer

• Respected Sage
  • B/C Pokerwork - ultimate ceili box
Re: Jamming with guitarists etc
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2012, 07:46:27 PM »

my thoughts, for what they're worth:

There are probably things you could do in the non-D/G keys, but they would often amount to little more than odd notes in some of the keys you refer to. 

Capos liberate fretted players from the key constraints that you have to work under on the box.  There'd be a fortune for the person who invented a melodeon capo. 

A 2 and a half row (D/G with accidentals) box migh be some use to you, at least on the treble side.