Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Black Hohner Erica G/C  (Read 3756 times)

Jan Pentz

Black Hohner Erica G/C
« on: May 11, 2018, 02:33:30 AM »

I am a newbie to melodeons..... I just acquired my first one from a person 30 miles away through Facebook Marketplace.....She inherited the instrument and doesn't know how old it is. It seems to be in almost unplayed condition. It's a black Hohner Erica with orange bellows with black tape and a white stripe in the plastic across the back.....does anybody know when this was made?? Plastic keyboard marked Made In Germany......
« Last Edit: May 13, 2018, 06:38:26 AM by Jan Pentz »

gettabettabox

Re: Black Hohner Erica G/C
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2018, 04:44:18 PM »

A photo from the front will help with dating, recessed grill or proud super-imposed grill?

Malcolm Clapp

• Loving my Hohner-reeded wet MMM CastaTommy
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2018, 09:54:39 PM »

The modern shape plastic keyboard came in around the early 1960s iirc. Black taped Erica bellows disappeared around 1980. I bought one new in that year and was told by the Hohner agent that "gold was the new black" for Erica bellows.

So I would reckon somewhere between 1960 and 1980 would be a reasonable estimate of the age of this one, assuming that nothing has been replaced (bellows or keyboard). Seems in remarkably fine exterior condition from the photo; congratulations on your purchase,...and welcome to m.net.
Tuner/repairer, now retired, but still playing! Happy to offer advice on repairs etc., and might be persuaded to undertake the odd emergency job for local and longtime  customers. Selling a few melodeons from my collection currently....

Jan Pentz

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2018, 05:33:45 AM »