Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Shoulder Pain?  (Read 14965 times)

alaskairishbox

Shoulder Pain?
« on: January 08, 2013, 04:53:55 AM »

Hello,
I am new to the box. I have developed left shoulder pain on the forward edge of th rotator cuff.
I am pretty sure that my obsessivly long practices are the primary cause. However I am wondering if there is a certain playing position that is more apt to cause this problem. I now realize that my left elbow is tucked tightly against my body when I play. This means the movemeny primarily comes from the shoulder as opposed to the elbow. Is the left elbow supposed to be slightly raised? That would reduce shoulder rotation in favor of elbow movement, I think?

Every hear of this kind of issue? Any advice?

Steve_freereeder

• Content Manager
  • MAD is inevitable. Keep Calm and Carry On
    • Lizzie Dripping
Re: Shoulder Pain?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 06:53:55 AM »

Hello,
I am new to the box. I have developed left shoulder pain on the forward edge of th rotator cuff.
I am pretty sure that my obsessivly long practices are the primary cause. However I am wondering if there is a certain playing position that is more apt to cause this problem. I now realize that my left elbow is tucked tightly against my body when I play. This means the movemeny primarily comes from the shoulder as opposed to the elbow. Is the left elbow supposed to be slightly raised? That would reduce shoulder rotation in favor of elbow movement, I think?

Every hear of this kind of issue? Any advice?
I think there are two main points to make here: