Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Bad habits  (Read 4352 times)

JJRobson

• Scarlatti D/G
    • Threepenny bit
Bad habits
« on: March 19, 2013, 12:00:41 PM »

Greetings all!

I'm a reasonably seasoned folk musician interested in English style tunes and am about to take the plunge into the melodeon pond... Next month I'll have saved enough to be buying my first box, a 21 button D/G scarlatti, although for the meantime (mainly to satisfy my curiosity) I've bought one of those £20 toy ones to fiddle around on.

My question is this... How long did people generally play around with scales and exercises when they first began? Or did they just jump straight in and try to play a tune? As its a completely new instrument for me (my others generally have 6 strings...) it would seem a crying shame to pick up a ton of bad habits from the get go! So if anyone has any useful tips/anecdotes from their early days or even certain things to avoid at all costs I'd love to hear them!

Cheers

J

I don't play box with this lot... yet www.threepennybit.com

Steve_freereeder

• Content Manager
  • MAD is inevitable. Keep Calm and Carry On
    • Lizzie Dripping
Re: Bad habits
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2013, 01:05:54 PM »

Or did they just jump straight in and try to play a tune?
Yes! Start noodling around, finding tunes or fragments of tunes on both rows (on a two row box).

Don't forget to use the LH bass and chords too, right from the start. It will be a bit of a steep learning curve at first, but don't leave them until later or you'll have much more difficulty.

Scales and exercises can come in at the same time if you want, but the melodeon is a bit different from so many other instruments - you'll learn a huge amount just by playing traditional English tunes.