Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Playing and drinking is way too hard!  (Read 9508 times)

EastAnglianTed

• The wise wearer of the onesie
  • Castagnari Hascy-East Anglia for the win!
    • My Youtube account
Playing and drinking is way too hard!
« on: April 13, 2013, 04:40:07 PM »

I'm a student, ergo I drink alot. Something I have found is that drinking alcohol has a devastating effect on my playing. I know this thread doesn't serve much purpose, but I was thinking about it all today.
    The other day I went to show a mate my playing after going out clubbing, and I wasn't able to play anything bar 10 seconds of a tune before it all went tits-up.
    In some sessions I've been to, a box player can sit and drink around 7 pints and still be coherent and able to play tunes well. Does this come with practice? It's just I'd say in my experience, it felt like I was like picking up the box for the first time all over again, really got me down, but then a few beers later I was back to me ol' self.  8) Still I'd like to hear some of your guys opinions and stories on mixing drink with the box.
    Please say I'm not the only one afflicted with this terrible hinderance!  ;D
    P.S. Any tips welcome  >:E

Marje

• Respected Sage
Re: Playing and drinking is way too hard!
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2013, 05:06:26 PM »

I think there is some evidence in psychology reseach to suggest that things you learn while under the influence of a drug are best recalled while in the same state of intoxication. In other words, try learning some tunes when you've been drinking, and perhaps they will come back to you when you reach a similar state on inebriation on another occasion.