Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Big Box Woes  (Read 3366 times)

uofdoboe

Big Box Woes
« on: January 16, 2014, 06:51:44 PM »

I have a box out on trial from The Button Box – a Saltarelle Tramontane that’s been in their inventory for some time now.  The box is 3 row (G/C/#), 3 voice (LMM), 14 bass with stops for 3rds & low reeds.  Very good shape – everything seems very airtight.
The box I’ve been playing for several years now is a Saltarelle Cheviot: 3 short rows (C#/D/G), 2 voice, 12 bass with a stop for 3rds.

This is this first 3-voice melodeon (and first G/C) I’ve ever played and I’m truly impressed but how much more effort it takes, even when I play only two reeds as I’m used to.  To the point that I’m having serious second thoughts about keeping it.  Tunes with many bellows reversals are suddenly tiring and passages with many quick reversals are right out.  I’m curious, since the answer will steer what boxes I look for in the future:  What’s the variable that’s making this box so much more sluggish/effortful?

The right hand contains an additional voice over what I’m used to.  But the right hand is stationary on your lap, so I wouldn’t think that itself contributes to the weight.

I’m very used to a 12-bass left hand.  I wouldn’t think an additional two bass buttons would be this much of an impact?
The box itself is both wider and deeper, I assume to accommodate the 3rd voice.  This drives the area of the bellows to be larger.  Is it that I’m having to move that much greater volume of air each reversal, owing to the larger bellows?

The larger right hand to accommodate the 3 voices also drives the left hand cabinet to match in size.  So there is, technically, more wood in this larger left hand cabinet.  Is that what I’m feeling?