Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Self taught??  (Read 7847 times)

Jude

Self taught??
« on: January 27, 2014, 10:34:35 PM »

I asked this on my last post but
Are any of you out there self taught? That is, have any of you just learned by trial and error? No tutor book, no instructor,just picked it up by ear?
I'm really curious...
Thanks so much everyone who is answering my questions
Liz

rees

• Windjammer
    • Wesson Accordions
Re: Self taught??
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2014, 10:49:33 PM »

I learned that way forty years ago. Living in West Wales isolated from other box players. I had two melodeon records:
No Reels by The Old Swan Band and another by Reg Hall and The Rakes.
I knew them both backwards  (:)

It's also how I teach.
Rees Wesson (accordion builder and mechanic)
Gungrog, Welshpool, Wales, UK
www.melodeons.com

Matthew B

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2014, 10:56:53 PM »

My guess is that pretty much everyone here is self-taught to some extent.  With one or two notable exceptions there haven't been decent formal teaching materials available for the melodeon until quite recently.  And for a long time I think teachers were pretty thin on the ground as well.  There do seem to be a few more resources out there now, but this is a recent development.
Charter Member Presumpscot and Fore River Accordion Club

Nick Collis Bird

• Been squeezing melodeons for over 48 years (badly)
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2014, 11:13:56 PM »

Agree with all the above. When I started circa 1971 it really was a case of suck it and see.