Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: Self taught??  (Read 7857 times)

Chris Ryall

• "doc 3-row"
  • French Interpreter
  • Wirral UK
    • Chris Ryall
Re: Self taught??
« Reply #60 on: January 30, 2014, 11:19:03 PM »

I actually think Marge got it … so close to how it is as makes no difference. Yes there are other ways, but as a broad brush summary … pretty accurate?
  _       _    _      _ 

Anahata

• This mind intentionally left blank
  • Oakwood D/G, C/F Club, 1-rows in C,D,G
    • Treewind Music
« Reply #61 on: January 30, 2014, 11:37:24 PM »

As a beginner on a B/C I'm interested in the views on the importance of scale practice. With many instruments eg flute or whistle there is only one choice of fingering for a particular note.  On a B/C it is apparent that there are a number of choices of fingers to use for a particular note and the choice seems to be dependent on the notes coming before or after in the tune.  So how do you practice scales?

The fact that you can play tunes and scales in all keys on a B/C is all the more reason for practising  them.
And when there are different fingerings, either pick one that works best or, better, find every one that you might ever need in a real tune and learn them all. The whole point of that kind of practice is to leave no stone unturned, to eliminate every single dead area where your fingers are being asked to make a sequence of movements they have never done before, so whatever you are playing, in what ever key, they've been there and done that.

You need to work on simple patterns that repeat up and down the scale too. In the classical world, whole books of such things are published...

The result of this kind of practice is that you can play anything.