Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Those who also play the anglo  (Read 2803 times)

derekc

• Good talker
Those who also play the anglo
« on: February 23, 2014, 11:56:09 AM »

Hi - a question please for those who play both the anglo concertina and D/G melodeon.

I have, on and off, played the D/G melodeon over several years. I recently started playing the anglo, which I enjoy very much and am starting to get to grips with it.

However, for me there is an apparent conflict between a D/G melodeon and an anglo (any key) concertina. To play the anglo in the harmonic style, you largely play (ignoring playing across the rows for the time being) the melody on what would be the equivalent squeaky end of a D/G.   From previous squeaky end threads, it appears that in the main, because it is squeaky, D/G melodeon players tend to play at the sweet spot lower octave end.

So what to do if you play both an anglo and a D/G melodeon?

- Learn and play tunes so the the fingering is largely the same on both the Anglo and melodeon - however, for D/G = squeaky end.
   - same - but buy a G/C or D/G LLM melodeon
   - Play the same tune on each, but transpose it to the lower end octave on the melodeon - I am so deeply envious if you can easily do this.
   - Just have a separate repertoire for each instrument as some tunes are bettered suited to one or other instrument.

I would like to hear your thoughts please. I am tending to find new tunes are being learnt on both, which in my case = the squeaky end. Which is pushing me towards a G/C melodeon, for me even a LLM D/G does not do squeaky end well - sorry. My current thoughts are a G/D (to cover the key of D) anglo and a G/C melodeon would be an ideal combination - but totally workshop unfriendly!

Many thanks.

IanD

• Too many melodeons...
Re: Those who also play the anglo