Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The Best 2nd Step ?  (Read 2321 times)

Babuan

The Best 2nd Step ?
« on: May 23, 2014, 02:42:03 PM »

Hi There,
I'm a newbie to the melodeon and have a question that I'm hoping you old hands can help with.  I can get through a tune on the lower register on the G row (standard /G/D box), and now feel ready to push the boundaries to the next step.  I can see at least 3 possibilities and was wondering which would be the most constructive next step to vex the brain... the basic 2nd step options as my novice brain sees it are;
1.  Stay on G row and sort out the upper register beyond the first octave and thus get to grips with the push-pull, pull-push change over
2). Move across to the D row lower register (where notes are opposite direction to G row.  eg G is push on G row, but pull on D row)
3). Start trying to get the bass hand working still in lower G row right hand
4).  ... or is there something else?

Many Thanks,
Graham  :||:

Thrupenny Bit

• happily squeezing away in Devon
Re: The Best 2nd Step ?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2014, 03:08:29 PM »

Hi Graham,
Welcome aboard!
My personal advice is - get your left hand bases working before you do anything else!
It's imperative you get both hands working, as will become more apparent as you progress.
Either that or you risk having to unlearn tunes when you realise the two hands must work in tandem and your bass-less fingering for a tune might have to be unlearnt when you apply the left hand end bass/chords.
Q
« Last Edit: May 23, 2014, 03:10:17 PM by Thrupenny Bit »
Thrupenny Bit

I think I'm starting to get most of the notes in roughly the right order...... sometimes!

JJRobson

• Scarlatti D/G
    • Threepenny bit
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2014, 03:11:44 PM »