Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Learning to play both sides.  (Read 7335 times)

Grape Ape

Re: Learning to play both sides.
« Reply #20 on: September 10, 2013, 01:02:54 AM »

Art,

Forgive me if any of this is repetitive as I did not read all of the above posts.  I, like GCF Steve, started on a GCF and it was, in fact, a panther.  I found that I naturally played it as two two rows as said above, playing songs on the GC rows and the Cf rows, but never on all three.  I loved the Panther as a first box, and kind of wish I hadn't traded it in on my Lilly ( do not misunderstand I love my Lilly) but wish I had kept the Panther as an outdoor/ campfire accordion.  In my opinion the Panther is tuned wet enough that precise tuning shouldn't be too much of an issue.
As for the basses, for me it came naturally, but I was a drummer in my past (pre melodeon) life, so I may have had an advantage.  Still, I would recommend starting with the left hand and playing some oom pah pahs and just plain oom pahs, not to be mistaken for the little men working in the chocolate factory, and then slowly introducing random notes on the right hand.  Start with long notes that you hold first for several oom pahs, then keep breaking it down until you are changing the treble note for every oompah pah and finally, play one note per each oom and each pah pah. Try counting in your head as you do so, either 1,2,3 or 1,2,3,4. Hope I didn't become too confusing, but that is a simple version of how I taught myself more complex rhythms.
Finally, the music of Yann Tierson can be played just fine on a Panther, but that does not make his songs easy to play.  I learned Valse d'Amelie on my Panther from YouTube videos.
Hope this helps

deltasalmon

« Reply #21 on: September 10, 2013, 02:18:03 AM »