Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bass hand issues  (Read 1375 times)

DinoTrackerAli

• Hohner Merlin G/C
  • New Starter
    • My YouTube Channel
Bass hand issues
« on: May 03, 2015, 05:33:14 PM »

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum.  I've been learning to play for two months now using Méthode d'accordéon diatonique/Diatonic accordion method (Norbert Pignol, Stéphane Milleret).  I have a Hohner Merlin in G/C.

I really enjoy practicing and playing but I'm struggling with my bass hand, especially as I want to start attempting songs that use 6 or more bass keys.  If you take a look at my video below, you'll see that I'm using my pointer and middle fingers to play the chords.  I can't make it all the way through the song without my pinky/ring fingers and knuckles getting cramped, and then I make mistakes.

https://youtu.be/wzOL15T25HI

I have a bit of folded fleece to put between my hand and the strap to tighten the fit.  It helps, but those two fingers still start to hurt, plus my pinky can barely reach the F/F key.

Do you think a sticky pad as in this post would help? Left hand not staying in place.

Any advice would be appreciated.  — Thank you!

Theo

• Administrator
  • Hohner Club Too
    • The Box Place
Re: Bass hand issues
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2015, 05:42:46 PM »

My suggestions would be: