Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Celebrating 3 years since I started playing!  (Read 3572 times)

arty

Celebrating 3 years since I started playing!
« on: May 17, 2015, 01:10:12 PM »

Buying and starting to teach myself, (I know, I have a poor teacher!), the melodeon has really added so much to my life. Three years ago, May 2012,  I started by learning Twinkle Twinkle Little Star and it really is a lovely journey to be on. It has taken that 3 years though, to realise that it was French music that I wanted to concentrate on and last month I got a G/C instrument with that in mind. Also, I got the Milleret and Pignol books to study, from which, I must say I am learning a tremendous amount!

One thing in particular that I am enjoying, is playing the whole keyboard - there is no dusty end! Changing from a D/G to a G/C is not as hard as I thought it was going to be and neither is using 4 fingers on the bass side, (an M&P suggestion).

I have recorded 'La Mal Aimable' by Jean-Christophe Lequerre before, on my D/G but here, I have done it again on the G/C and suddenly, it sounds so much more French. Listening to myself, (a very important part of self teaching), I realise that I have to practice those triplets A LOT more and probably slowly, to get them crisp and clean. Other than that, I'm pleased.

After 3 years:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IF3NdtYFvgU

I want to thank so many people on this fantastic site! Without melodeon.net, the process of learning would be taking an awful lot longer. I'm not going to mention names, for fear of leaving someone out but it has to be said that EVERY SINGLE DAY I COME ON MELODEON.NET AND I LEARN SOMETHING!!!!

So, THANK YOU EVERYBODY!
Pre-Pokerwork C/F, Castagnari Laura G/C, Beltuna Sara 3 A/D, Castagnari Sander Special D/G

Mike Carney

• In sunny Sheffield