Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Brand New Melodeon Player  (Read 3472 times)

Mick

Brand New Melodeon Player
« on: September 02, 2016, 02:28:35 AM »

Hello all,

Just wanted to check in as a new player and member.  Been a mandolin player as my main instrument for about three decades now but I've been playing piano accordion for about two years now and bought my first button box--a Hohner Pokerwork in G/C this summer.  Admittedly, I was a bit baffled by the multitude of key options on two-row and three row instruments.  I'm from Texas and grew up listening to Tejano music as much as country or soul or rock. Not quite ready to jump into that sound but after a bit of time, maybe so.

Absolutely entrancing instrument. I think if I had found this when I was 16 instead of the mando I wouldn't have looked back.

I got a copy of Pignol-Milleret Méthode to build some fundamentals.  I'd appreciate any and all recommendations on learning.  Yes, finding teacher would be ideal, but in my current situation, learning from video and books is the likely path for awhile.

A great looking forum, here.  Lots to learn and enjoy.

Mick

Nick Collis Bird

• Been squeezing melodeons for over 48 years (badly)
Re: Brand New Melodeon Player
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2016, 07:20:25 AM »

Hi Mick and welcome to the forum.
Look up teachers in the link section. Mel Biggs gives Skype lessons, best of luck. :||:
Has anyone heard of the song. “ Broken Alarm-clock Blues” ? It starts   “I woke up this Afternoon”

Baron Collins-Hill

• Regular debater
  • Maine, USA
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2016, 02:57:52 PM »

Welcome!

I also found the melodeon after playing the mandolin for many years. Perhaps a natural progression. They are loads of fun, that's for sure! Keep us posted on your progress!

Thanks,
Baron