Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Lack of postings due to ERROR!  (Read 762 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3426
  • Windjammer
    • Wesson Accordions
Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« on: September 29, 2016, 09:41:13 PM »

I really would post here a lot more if I didn't continually get ERROR message and then have to clear my sodding cache!!!
Logged
Rees Wesson (accordion builder and mechanic)
Gungrog, Welshpool, Wales, UK
www.melodeons.com

KLR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 520
  • Kevin Rietmann
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2016, 05:16:24 AM »

Change browsers.

Hey!  Just tried this at home with Opera and it worked.  Still annoying as all get out.

I've been able to post from work but at home with Chrome I'm plagued by the WEBMA5TER error.

Of course maybe Opera won't work for me after a couple of posts like Chrome always does...
« Last Edit: September 30, 2016, 05:18:24 AM by KLR »
Logged

Edward Jennings

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 599
    • "Our Luxor B&B" Luxor life, slice by slice.
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2016, 06:48:07 AM »

I don't recall ever seeing this message on here. I use Chrome and, this week, I'm accessing the 'net through a steam driven driven dongle, here in far-flung Aswan! When we're "at home" in Luxor, our internet is through Egypt's steam driven national telephone lines, again with Chrome, but again, never an ERROR message. I'm also using a second-hand lap-top which, recently, seems to have caught a cold (if not a full-blown virus) as some rather strange things are going on with it. But still no ERROR messages, thank Heaven!

It does seem very strange, as my technophobia knows no bounds and, really, I should be a prime candidate for this sort of nonsense!
Logged
Edward
Windy Nook, Tyneside or Luxor on the Nile.

International One Row 2 voice in D. National Band 3 stopper in G. Hohner 1140 in C. Hering 2 row in G/C. Very poorly C/F Hohner 1600. Plus projects and parts of projects.
http://ourluxorflat.blogspot.co.uk/

malcolmbebb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2098
  • In dampest Dorset, on the soggy south coast.
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2016, 07:47:24 AM »

It may be a red herring but I can't use Chrome or Iron unless I switch off Windows defender, which unfortunately is programmed to switch itself back on.
Firefox works at the moment.
Logged
Dino BPII. My wife seems to have claimed the Liliput.
"Tradition is not the worship of ashes, but the preservation of fire."

Lester

  • MADman
  • Mods and volunteers
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6900
  • Hohners'R'me
    • Lester's Melodeon Emporium and Tune-a-Rama
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2016, 08:32:12 AM »

I get the error fairly frequently on Chrome, Firefox, OS X, W10.

Mostly when I get the error I press the browser back button, copy my text, reload the page, and paste'n'post, trhis is usually successful but still a PITA.
Logged
Melodeon Repairs - Website - Facebook
Lester's Tune-a-Day Blog
Hohner Melodeons
Made in Germany
Improved in Wendover

Theo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9497
  • Hohner Club Too
    • The Box Place
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2016, 08:43:30 AM »

I've not seen this error myself for a long time.  I use both chrome and Firefox on mac iPhone and iPad. I don't use any windows machines.  I can't help thinking that if it crops up occasionally for others using the same hardware and software that there nust be some subtle machine specific thing that is triggering the error.

In the past when the error did occur for me I found that a long term fix was to go through these steps:

Clear browser history including cookies
Shut down computer and anything else connected to my wifi
Shut down wifi router
Wait 5 minutes
Re-start router
Restart computer

I know that sounds like an even bigger pita, but it's my only suggestion.
Logged
Theo Gibb

Day job: The Box Place. Follow me on Twitter and please like my Facebook page
Night job: Sunniside Up! Ceilidh Band

Chris Ryall

  • "doc 3-row"
  • French Interpreter
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7763
  • Wirral (Europe)
    • Chris Ryall
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2016, 09:58:25 AM »

I get regular "access denied" messages posing from a static wired iMac, but NOT from pad or from a PC. Cure is to sign out, then sign back in and repost

All very weird, but that doesn't make it "right". Would love a cure.  A previous problem turned out to be that the browser was operating in "private mode" and as such would destroy melne's cookie data. So do check that out
Logged
  _       _    _      _ 

Chris Brimley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1749
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2016, 10:29:47 AM »

Via Chrome, I use both Ghostery and Kaspersky to block tracker sites, and while I get lots of them blocked for things like facebook and internet banking, melnet never shows any such at all.  (Clearly the big American private data mis-users have yet to appreciate the huge market represented by melnet!)  So I would have imagined that using 'private mode' shouldn't make much difference.
Logged

Thrupenny Bit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3273
  • happily squeezing away in Devon
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2016, 12:08:48 PM »

An Edge and iPad user, never seen it at all.
hmmm p'raps I shouldn't tempt fate!
Q
Logged
Thrupenny Bit

I think I'm starting to get most of the notes in roughly the right order...... sometimes!

Anahata

  • This mind intentionally left blank
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4214
  • Oakwood D/G, C/F Club, 1-rows in C,D,G
    • Treewind Music
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2016, 03:03:02 PM »

I rarely or never have this problem with Chrome or Firefox on Windows or Linux, but have had problems quite frequently on Android devices.
Logged
I'm a melodeon player. What's your excuse?
Music recording and web hosting: www.treewind.co.uk
Mary Humphreys and Anahata: www.maryanahata.co.uk
Ceilidh band: www.fendragon.co.uk

Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3426
  • Windjammer
    • Wesson Accordions
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2016, 06:37:56 PM »

I'm using Chrome on two different Macs - same problem on both.
Logged
Rees Wesson (accordion builder and mechanic)
Gungrog, Welshpool, Wales, UK
www.melodeons.com

xgx

  • Bagpipes & Musette Boxes... and Banjos, luv 'em!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 887
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2016, 11:40:58 PM »

Happened again today, cleared the cache; it'll be OK ....until the next time.

Just have to remember to copy any posting before hitting 'submit'  ::)
Logged
Graham

 N Cambs/S Lincs - UK   :|glug + :|glug:|||: = :|bl

Chris Ryall

  • "doc 3-row"
  • French Interpreter
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7763
  • Wirral (Europe)
    • Chris Ryall
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2016, 08:02:45 AM »

Used to do that, but in my experience pressing "back" the form still has one's words of wisdom in the text box. However that might be browser or settings dependent. And wqould probably change if the forum ever moves to https protocols
Logged
  _       _    _      _ 

xgx

  • Bagpipes & Musette Boxes... and Banjos, luv 'em!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 887
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2016, 08:50:07 AM »

seems that 'back' button has been disabled because of security issues, don't know if it's a chrome thing?
Logged
Graham

 N Cambs/S Lincs - UK   :|glug + :|glug:|||: = :|bl

GPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2636
  • MAD as a wet Hohner........
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2016, 09:12:14 AM »

I've been using Chrome for ages - currently with Windows 10 - and never seen the error message under discussion. Chrome has always worked like silk for me.....

Graham
Logged
Among others, Saltarelle Pastourelle II D/G; Hohner 4-stop 1-rows in C & G; assorted Hohners; 3-voice German (?) G/C of uncertain parentage; lovely little Hlavacek 1-row Heligonka; B♭/E♭ Koch undergoing a rebuild. Also Fender Jazz bass, Telecaster, Epiphone Sheraton, Charvel-Jackson 000-style acoustic guitar and other stuff..........

Squeezing in the Cyprus sunshine

Lyra

  • Respected Sage
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 424
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #15 on: October 01, 2016, 11:38:09 AM »

I get it a lot on Mac but had it too on PC.
I usually just give up as the whole clear cache thing is a PITA but also interferes with other things.
I'm unable to discern a pattern. Do nothing and come back next day seems to work as often as other things.
Logged

Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3426
  • Windjammer
    • Wesson Accordions
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #16 on: October 01, 2016, 12:07:30 PM »


I usually just give up as the whole clear cache thing is a PITA but also interferes with other things.

Hegsackerly!
Logged
Rees Wesson (accordion builder and mechanic)
Gungrog, Welshpool, Wales, UK
www.melodeons.com

Lester

  • MADman
  • Mods and volunteers
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6900
  • Hohners'R'me
    • Lester's Melodeon Emporium and Tune-a-Rama
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #17 on: October 01, 2016, 12:31:58 PM »


I usually just give up as the whole clear cache thing is a PITA but also interferes with other things.

Hegsackerly!

If you are using Chrome cut and paste this link - chrome://settings/cookies into your address bar and it will open a dialogue box in which you can delete the cookies for individual sites, enter 'melodeon' in the Search Cookies box and just delete the melnet cookies.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 12:45:37 PM by Lester »
Logged
Melodeon Repairs - Website - Facebook
Lester's Tune-a-Day Blog
Hohner Melodeons
Made in Germany
Improved in Wendover

xgx

  • Bagpipes & Musette Boxes... and Banjos, luv 'em!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 887
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #18 on: October 01, 2016, 12:34:47 PM »

 :-[
 
This site can’t be reached

chrome’s server DNS address could not be found.
Logged
Graham

 N Cambs/S Lincs - UK   :|glug + :|glug:|||: = :|bl

Lester

  • MADman
  • Mods and volunteers
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6900
  • Hohners'R'me
    • Lester's Melodeon Emporium and Tune-a-Rama
Re: Lack of postings due to ERROR!
« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2016, 12:45:08 PM »

:-[
 
This site can’t be reached

chrome’s server DNS address could not be found.

Melnet being clever invisibly added and extra http:// to the link. So you need to copy and paste the ling into the address bar
Logged
Melodeon Repairs - Website - Facebook
Lester's Tune-a-Day Blog
Hohner Melodeons
Made in Germany
Improved in Wendover
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 


Melodeon.net - (c) Theo Gibb; Clive Williams 2010. The access and use of this website and forum featuring these terms and conditions constitutes your acceptance of these terms and conditions.