Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What Type of Accordion Should I Get?  (Read 3575 times)

Amanda

What Type of Accordion Should I Get?
« on: January 29, 2017, 06:31:51 PM »

Hello! I took up the diatonic accordion about a year ago, and have an old one-row D box. It has been faithful, but is to the point that the repairman said it's better off sitting on a shelf. He fixed the stops, but said it would need to be entirely rebuilt and it wasn't worth it.
I'm looking to buy a newer one, but am not sure where to start. I play primarily Québécois, Irish, and French, as well as some Gypsy and bluegrass. What should I look for based on this? I was considering maybe a C#D, but would appreciate your advice on this since I'm a self-taught beginner.  My family and the repair guy are biased towards the piano accordion, which I have too, but I have fallen in love with the diatonic, and don't want to give that up. I am also only 17 and in Kansas, so price is limited and more than likely will have to buy online.
Thank you very much for your help in this!
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 09:29:45 AM by AmandaLynP »
Accordez-vous donc, c'est si beau l'accordéon.

boxer

• Respected Sage
  • B/C Pokerwork - ultimate ceili box
Re: What Type of Accordion Should I Get?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2017, 07:29:57 PM »

you're young and you've only been playing for a year so you have the luxury of having enough time to be able to take your pick and make a good job of learning to play whatever you might choose. 

you have two choices in diatonics:  either fifth-tuned or semitone tuned, and, if semitone, whether C#/D or B/C (there are others, but they're relatively uncommon)