Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Photos of inside of Castagnari Lily  (Read 1573 times)

lefthandsqueezer

Photos of inside of Castagnari Lily
« on: May 08, 2017, 01:36:30 PM »

Does anyone have any pics of the bass and treble reed block installation of a Lily. Thinking of converting one to a lefty, I've some experience having done a couple of Hohners for myself. I've enquired a Castagnari to make me one and they are willing but they cannot deliver until November. So thought I would try and gauge how big a job it is before placing an order.
Hohner Pokerwork (Modified by me to be a Lefty.
Left handed Castagnari Handry, Mory and sander (Yes they will make you one.) Lovely people.

Lester

• MADman
  • Mods and volunteers
  • Hohners'R'me
    • Lester's Melodeon Emporium and Tune-a-Rama
Re: Photos of inside of Castagnari Lily
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2017, 01:48:28 PM »

No photos but, there are no blocks in the treble side the reeds are flat mounted to casework and the bass/treble block (singular) fills the space in the bellows almost entirely not that this actually affects the moving of the air button mechanism.

jonm

• Regular debater
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2017, 02:02:56 PM »

I played a Lilly left-handed for a couple of years without moving the air button. I could reach it just fine with my little finger, as the bass end size is not too great.
Castagnari Mory and Giordy D/G, Hohner Erica, four-stop in G, two-stop in G

Steve_freereeder

• Content Manager
  • MAD is inevitable. Keep Calm and Carry On
    • Lizzie Dripping
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2017, 03:09:00 PM »

Like Lester, I have no photos unfortunately, but I do have a schematic diagram of the bass end reed block layout which I use when tuning. See attached. It might be of help to you.
Steve
Sheffield, UK.
www.lizziedripping.org.uk