Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Decoding ABC music  (Read 5248 times)

Dee J

Decoding ABC music
« on: July 21, 2009, 12:56:20 PM »

As an absolute beginner, with little experience of sight-reading music, playing from ABC notation has a lot going for it... but sometimes something trips me up. In this case its the Parts notation in 'The Three Musketeers' (La Marseillaise in G) as found on the ABC finder.

The tune is clearly in two parts (A and B) with repeat marks around each, but the P: field contains the following

P:${1}\over{2}$A(AB)$^4$
%P:A/2.(AB)4

I can't find many of these symbols lited in the tutorials - anyone care to translate please.

Dee

jb

• Respected Sage
Re: Decoding ABC music
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2009, 01:38:59 PM »

Someone else is bound to know for sure, but to me it looks like two renditions of the same instruction regarding A/B repetitions: to play an unrepeated A section (A/2) followed by four lots of A+B with repeats as shown. I don't recognise the syntax of the first version though.
And I guess these instructions will relate to playing for dance.
You could always try emailing the declared transcriber Alex Boster <boster@acm.org> to check.
there ain't no such thing as a free reed

Bill the Farmer

• Not quite so
  • Respected Sage
  • Hohner Club, Liliput...
    • Bill Farmer
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2009, 11:49:41 AM »

I think the first line includes some clever scripting to get a '1/2' character and a superscript '4' on the end. Not part of ABC as we know it.
Bill of Old Shoreham Town

Simon

• Respected Sage
  • Serenellini Selli C/F and Gold98 G/C
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2009, 08:18:25 PM »

I think the first line includes some clever scripting to get a '1/2' character and a superscript '4' on the end. Not part of ABC as we know it.