Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Some Early Learning Reflections  (Read 1617 times)

Don Bergland

Some Early Learning Reflections
« on: July 30, 2017, 04:15:20 PM »

It's Sunday morning here in Western Canada, and I'm just reflecting on some of my recent melodeon encounters.

I'm still a humbled novice on the melodeon. I only started working on this incredible instrument a few months ago (at the age of 71). I've already worked my way through several Hohners. As I indicated in previous posts, I just purchased a Castagnari Brio G/C, and am ferociously working with it, trying desperately to like everything about it. The instrument has an amazing delicacy and sensitivity that my Hohners don't seem to possess (at least in my untutored experience).

The last instrument I worked with (before my Castagnari purchase) was a Hohner Erica G/C. In my last few months of study, I learned a certain repertoire (simple songs and exercises) on this instrument. I'm now sitting in my studio, with the Erica and the Brio in front of me, picking up one, and then the other, comparing them and working through the songs/exercises that I know on each of them.

I am discovering something very interesting.

Some of the songs I play on Erica, don't transfer well to the Brio, and vice versa. Maybe it is just my lack of skill. When I play "Nadiejda" on the Erica, for example, it sounds okay. But when I play the same notes on the Brio, an entire new world of sound suddenly appears. The notes feel articulated and balanced in entirely new way. When I play "Hanter Dro Languidic" on the Erica, my heart roars with impassioned motion. I want to stand up and rejoice! When I play it on the Brio, I want to go to sleep. Again, maybe this is just my own subjective analysis and lack of skilled ability on these instruments.