Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9   Go Down

Author Topic: Total beginner....help please!  (Read 23887 times)

Simon Cragg

• Good talker
Total beginner....help please!
« on: October 08, 2017, 06:17:04 PM »

After 67 years, (and having read the subject to death), I have taken the plunge and purchased a two row, 8 bass Scarlatti D/G from Hobgoblin. I know NOTHING about reading music etc. and the whole subject is a bit of a mystery to me. However, I have seen various tutorials on You Tube which I think I might be able to master. I would like to learn in a structured fashion, so is it better to just purchase Malleys book and try and follow it, or find a tutorial on You Tube. Any recommendations welcome, as my small brain is starting to turn to mush trying to work out the easiest / best method of structured learning. My wife is in the same boat trying to learn the clarinet, and ideally, we would like to learn something dead simple that we can play together!.At this stage I would be ecstatic if I could play ANYTHING!.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2017, 06:20:21 PM by Simon Cragg »

Helena Handcart

• Nine-box Nellie
Re: Total beginner....help please!
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2017, 06:28:39 PM »

Two great learning resources I thoroughly recommend - the first is Ed Rennie's excellent melodeon tutor book which includes both a CD of the tunes and lessons but also a DVD which shows in split-screen exactly what both hands are doing. The second is Skype lessons with Mel Biggs

Ed's book doesn't  require you to read music - although by the end of it you just might be able to. That was certainly my experience when I began with the book.  Similarly Mel is an expert and patient teacher who is used to helping nervous beginners.

Whatever path you choose, welcome to the wonderful world of melodeons  :||: