Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How should I learn to play? (Beginner)  (Read 2664 times)

ggrbz

• New Starter
How should I learn to play? (Beginner)
« on: November 22, 2017, 04:34:44 PM »

Hello,

Another beginner here.
I grew up hearing melodeon tunes all the time but never learned to play. I inherited a Hohner Vienna 1040-C recently. It is a one-row melodeon and it makes a lovely sound.
I would like to play Circassian folk tunes but I live in Vienna and seriously, here, they don't even know what Circassian is. And there are so few of us living in Vienna, there is no one to teach me either. I decided I will start with standart, European tunes for beginners(since there are many resources for this kind of music), then maybe a year later I will try our folk tunes. Or should I just start playing whatever I feel like? I am kind of confused about this and would welcome suggestions.

https://imgur.com/a/FIxtK
I would also appreciate any information on my melodeon, how old it might be for example? It was made in Germany, that's all I know.

Thank you.

Sebastian

Re: How should I learn to play? (Beginner)
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2017, 05:51:15 PM »

Or should I just start playing whatever I feel like?
Yes, of course.

Anne Croucher

• Regular debater
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2017, 06:01:12 PM »

I am so far from being an expert - but what I have done is to potter about the keyboard, quietly, just listening to the notes and finding bits of tunes, then try to add a few more notes - sometimes there isn't a note in there, so I try something else.