Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: "Golden Rules" for practising?  (Read 8354 times)

Rob Phillips

• Good talker
"Golden Rules" for practising?
« on: December 26, 2017, 10:47:49 AM »

First off, I know that many of us don't practise. We play for the joy of playing. Practice takes time and can get in the way of other things. But some of us (maybe especially people like me who aren't naturally gifted as musicians) find that practice helps.

A week or so back Brian Field started the thread "Can you practise too long?"  There have been some fascinating answers as well as a thread drift toward playing for different types of morris. As a morris musician myself I found that fascinating too.

I wondered about the optimum length for practice   ---   and, indeed, if there is such a thing. For example, is it the same for a child learning the recorder and for a professional concert pianist? Or one of us learning a Scandinavian tune that's well outside our comfort zone? I doubt it very much.

Coming clean about the day job, I'm an educational psychologist. That means I should know about ways of improving learning and overcoming the things that block progress. My work is supposed to be "evidence based". That is to say, I don't rely on assumptions however common sense they might seem. However, Brian's question threw me   ---   music wasn't covered when I trained as an EP! I made an online search (rather than watch Christmas TV...... ).   What I found took me away from the question about the possibility of practising for too long. I came to a complete halt when I found a website about rules for piano practice:

https://www.key-notes.com/blog/efficient-piano-practice  (I'm not going to list them here. Click on the link if you want to see the full article).