Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Correct placement for thumbstrap  (Read 2205 times)

groves

Correct placement for thumbstrap
« on: March 03, 2018, 06:48:28 PM »

I'm a beginner and was wondering whether there is a tutorial that shows common placements of the thumb for use in a thumbstrap?

I have a HA-114 and find the thumbstrap getting in the way a bit when quickly moving from low/high notes if I try to rest my thumb on the box itself (either on the back of the keyboard, or on the outer edge). I've found that I can keep my thumb off of the box (basically "floating" in the air and keeping tension on the thumbstrap) and it works a bit better, but I feel like this probably isn't normal usage and would probably get tiring.

If I don't use the thumbstrap at all it feels good as well, but then I find that I have to constantly apply a lot of pressure with my thumb anyway, which isn't ideal.

I would also like to try out a shoulder strap to compare, but I'm not sure if there is a way to do this that isn't destructive to the box (I prefer not to drill any holes).
« Last Edit: March 03, 2018, 07:34:53 PM by groves »

boxcall

• You got to love it!!!
  • Accordion to who?
Re: Correct placement for thumbstrap
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2018, 08:11:40 PM »

Probably no such thing as "correct placement" it's more about finding what works for you.
Here's a couple links to different ways.
Straight though these two seem to be the same just past the first knuckle. (This is probably what you referred to as floating) https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mkPK93MtoVk

This fellow behind the keyboard
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fKQJ4xnSNH8

And this fellow on the edge
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8-tw8-4F3Qc

So what ever is the most comfortable really.