Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Back up box for morris  (Read 1315 times)

Richard Shaul

• Good talker
Back up box for morris
« on: April 23, 2018, 10:01:43 PM »

Hello,
I spent the first year or so of my Melodeon journey learning on a Sherwood Shire 2v DG (Cagnoni reeds) which I was very happy with. In 2017 I was fortunate enough build a melodeon on Emmanuel Pariselle's course, and since then this has been the main instrument I use. Last autumn I started playing with a border morris side, using the Pariselle. Now, with the summer approaching, and the prospect of dance outs etc. I am thinking that the Sherwood would be a useful backup in case of problems. However, when I try to play the morris tunes tunes on it, I find that I simply can't play fast enough to make this viable. So is this me or the box? Have I been spoilt by the Pariselle, and do I just need to practise more on the Sherwood to get up to speed, or could a fettler improve the response of the Sherwood sufficiently to make a difference?   (or maybe its a bit of each).

Lester

• MADman
  • Mods and volunteers
  • Hohners'R'me
    • Lester's Melodeon Emporium and Tune-a-Rama
Re: Back up box for morris
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2018, 10:13:31 PM »

Most of the Chinese 'Italian' boxes (Sherwood, Sandpiper, etc) can be vastly improved by having the reeds tuned and, more importantly, set up. They come out of the factory in various states of set up and tuning which causes the reeds to be slow to speak,

Rob Lands

• Regular debater
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2018, 10:10:59 AM »