Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help with replacing reedblocks  (Read 1831 times)

Pascal Gillies

Help with replacing reedblocks
« on: May 03, 2018, 05:36:41 AM »

Hello all fellow melodeoners!
This is my first post but I have been what's been on here for a wee while now.
I'm still quite new to this and have only been playing 8 - 9 months and loving it.

I have recently acquired another pokerwork to learn how to fix and in the process, I purchased some reedblocks to change the tuning from the honer shop website.
Only shock horror they don't fit :o
Looks like it is something very simple that they do not have felt on the bottom of them but the original ones do.
Does anyone have experience with this?
Is there somewhere that sells the felt/lining with precut holes in it?
If not what material would be best suited and what is the best method for cutting holes and glueing the lining?

I look forward to seeing what people have to say :)
Pascal

Lester

• MADman
  • Mods and volunteers
  • Hohners'R'me
    • Lester's Melodeon Emporium and Tune-a-Rama
Re: Help with replacing reedblocks
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2018, 07:24:30 AM »

My personal preference would be to fit Olovisc gasket (a thin type of cork gasket) to the casework rather than the reed blocks. Charlie Marshall sells self adhesive Olovisc, just stick it to the casework over the air holes then cut around the holes with a scalpel.

Theo

• Administrator
  • Hohner Club Too
    • The Box Place
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2018, 12:11:19 PM »