Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C#/D playing tips and hints  (Read 2989 times)

vsku

C#/D playing tips and hints
« on: October 11, 2013, 08:51:56 PM »

Hi everyone!

Im a C#/D box player and recently relalized that despite ive played it for about 5 months im more beginner than I was when I started playing it. My playing sounds pretty sloppy and monotonous in my opinion. I can play approximately 50-80 tunes with it but I had a thought that I should start learning the instrument from the beginnings again. I have played music for a long time and G/C and D/G boxes for few years but C#/D is really what i like to do.

There must be some c#/d players here in melnet so im really needing some help out there.
-What is your tip to develop a fluent playing style?
-Do you use different fingers when you tap the same button? One irish B/C player answered "always!"
-How do you emphasize your playing? Tapping the box with left hand fingers? or with just from arm movement
-I read the discussion about dermot byrne. Do you practise your tunes in many keys?
-Bellow control is vital for push/draw playing so how do you keep practising it?

Im from Finland so there's no teachers living nearby. And I have that peter browne DVD which is great and useful for ornamentation but that's just not what i need right now. My goal is to play tunes fluently and with emphasized notes (backbeat in reels :D) without ornamentation. Time for ornamentation is after the fluent basic playing. I can play tunes with ornamentation at the moment but crap with ornamentation is still crap...

Thanks for any help.

Vsku

Dan

Re: C#/D playing tips and hints
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2013, 10:14:15 PM »

http://www.youtube.com/user/ZiziAllaire?ob=0&feature=results_main

is my recommendation.

(Much appreciated by me, anyway)

Stiamh