Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Beginner with Sherwood b/c box  (Read 2404 times)

Danny

Beginner with Sherwood b/c box
« on: December 29, 2018, 05:56:51 PM »

Hello every one. This my very first post so please be patient with me. I am a 65 year old beginner with the melodeon, although I have played other instruments.
I purchased a "Sherwood B/C melodeon about 5 months ago and I am enjoying the process. I have no idea whether this box sounds as good as it should as I have only on lie videos to go on.
The high notes sound a bit weak, but other than that it sounds ok to me. I like the playing of the late Joe Derrane and wonder what kind of boxes he used. I know I will never get to play like him, but it's the sound I am after .
My box came with I believe is standard BASS tuning, and I wonder if it will help me if I get the re-tuned to say Joe Burkes set-up?
Thanks Danny

Danny

Beginner with Sherwood b/c box
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2018, 06:01:23 PM »

PS
I have seen a "Victoria 4 Voice, 2 Coupler B/C Melodeon, made in Italy, Paolo Soprani style" box on sale for £600. I cannot find any information on this make. has any one heard of it?
Would this kind box give a different sound suitable for Irish Music

Stiamh

• Old grey C#/D pest
    • Packie Manus Byrne
Re: Beginner with Sherwood b/c box
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2018, 06:51:05 PM »

Hi Danny, Joe Derrane played the D/C# system. It won't be easy to duplicate his style on another system (mind you, given his prodigious skill, it would be far from easy to duplicate it on the same system!).

On his later recordings, he played a 3-voice instrument tuned LMM (one bassoon or low voice, two clarinet or medium voices). That voicing is an important part of his sound.