Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bass buttons and Dupytrens Contracture  (Read 964 times)

Davidmc

Bass buttons and Dupytrens Contracture
« on: August 21, 2019, 10:24:01 AM »

I have been playing the melodeon for about 3 years now. A hobby I enjoy embarked upon in later life. I also have had a progressive hand condition for many years, Dupytrens Contracture which is painless but quite disabling. The condition causes fingers to curl into a hook like form. I have had my treble side hand operated on (not an insignificant or painless exercise) but my left hand is still affected. On this left hand I have available for bass playing the index and ring finger, pinky and index are curled. My apologies for this lengthy description though I hope it sets the scene. I can manage to play simple bass accompaniments on two row instruments, usually versions of 3 chord oompah variety.  I would like to do more but am having to accept that this may not be possible. I also enjoy playing single row instruments and have modified a Hohner HA113 to accommodate the condition. I would like to acquire and play a button bass single row D melodeon, but am finding that the button spacing on all the one row (non spoon) instruments I have researched is too wide for my finger spread (wider than Hohner spoons). Is anyone aware of any one row boxes that have button basses set close together (more akin to 8 bass separation distance). Or do I have to give up the button bass search and settle for a good Hohner 4 stop in D.  Thank you for reading this and any suggestions you may have

Tone Dumb Greg

• Dartmoor Border Morris
Re: Bass buttons and Dupytrens Contracture
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2019, 11:08:52 AM »