Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Why did the (DG) melodeon player cross the rows?  (Read 5802 times)

The Oul' Boy

• Respected Sage
Why did the (DG) melodeon player cross the rows?
« on: October 25, 2019, 03:37:28 PM »

Hi there, I thought I'd ask for your thoughts ('advice' suggests there's a right and wrong answer and as I'm discovering, there rarely is). I've been learning DG melodeon now for about 9 months, it seems to be going well, and I'm getting to the stage where I'm starting to move my left hand around a bit too (though I'm still oom-pah-ing, even if I can see more complex bass manoeuvres somewhere on the horizon) and to cross rows on the right hand for more than just the low E.

I'm currently spending a lot of time on a small number of tunes trying to perfect technique a bit. Two of these are Egan's Polka and Salmon Tails up the Water, nothing too complicated about them, but some useful things to learn to do more naturally all the same. I notice with both tunes that if you play them all on the row (ignoring the low E), there's a number of times in Egan's (e.g. 3rd bar) where you have to make a quick bellows reversal and back again to get the semi-quaver, and in Salmon Tails, various quavers where you have to do the same (e.g. bar 2). This can be quite challenging to get right and leads to a very bumpy version. A quick diversion to the D row with the wee finger on A/B button gets rid of most of these without clashing with the bass accompaniment (in Egan's because it is in a gap between basses, in Salmon Tails because it gives you D bass, which matches with the recommended chords in Mally's East Peasy Tunes; diverting to the D row for the high F# quaver in Salmon Tails hardly seems worth the effort though). But the one-row version is hardly jarring in this respect.