Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to play the Marsaillaise on a D/G?  (Read 988 times)

Bill Ferrett

How to play the Marsaillaise on a D/G?
« on: January 23, 2020, 09:41:22 PM »

Hi All.  I'm a beginner and live in France and have just got a second-hand D/G Hohner.  While I learn the basics (Shepherd's Hey, etc), I thought it would be fun to learn the Marsaillaise.  I have worked out most of it but the section that starts "Ils viennent..." is the tricky bit.  I think it uses a natural F (which I have as an accidental if that is the right term) but fitting that in is a) tricky fingering and b) seems too high.

Am I just trying to run before I can walk, approaching it from the wrong direction, missing a trick or what?  Thanks for any advice.
1930's Hohner re-tuned to D/G

Jesse Smith

• Buffalo, NY, USA
Re: How to play the Marsaillaise on a D/G?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2020, 09:53:50 PM »

It sounds like you are playing in D. You're right, the F natural is in the wrong octave. If you play it in G, that note becomes a Bb, which you have in the right octave, but then there is a low F natural in the first section (on "Mugir") which you don't have in the right octave. I guess either way you will have to fudge it somehow. I'd try it both ways and see what seems to work best.
Hohner Pokerwork D/G (x2!), Hohner one row four stops in D and C, Hohner Presswood C/F.

Anahata

• This mind intentionally left blank
  • Oakwood D/G, C/F Club, 1-rows in C,D,G
    • Treewind Music
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2020, 10:08:55 PM »