Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recognizing if a song can be played in a certain melodeon  (Read 859 times)

Daniel meza

• New Starter
Recognizing if a song can be played in a certain melodeon
« on: February 17, 2020, 10:23:55 AM »

Hi everyone!

I'm new in the forum, and have a (maybe) very dumb question: I have a 2 row melodeon CG (in not so good condition) and also a BbEb (in very good shape)

I basically wanted to know how to recognize from a music sheet if a song can be played in one of this melodeons.

Basically what I do is check every note and see if that note is not missing in the melodeon, but, is there a fast and easy way of doing this ? (I have no musical theory knowledge)

Thanks !

JohnAndy

• Regular debater
  • John Barber
Re: Recognizing if a song can be played in a certain melodeon
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2020, 11:57:27 AM »

Hi Daniel

Welcome to the forum!

It's not a dumb question at all.

There's a quick way to see from the printed music whether or not you're likely to be able to play the tune on one of your boxes.

At the very beginning of the tune and at the start of each line you'll see the "key signature". This is a number of sharp (#) or flat (♭) symbols on the stave.

If there is just one sharp symbol, or if there are no sharps or flats at all, then it might be worth trying to play the tune on your G/C box.

If there are 2 flat symbols, or 3 flat symbols, then it might be worth trying to play the tune on your B♭/E♭ box.

This isn't a 100% method! There will be many tunes you could play that don't have the number of flats/sharps that I've mentioned above. And there'll be tunes that do have the right number of flats/sharps in the key signature, but you'll still find they have notes that might be missing on your box.

But you might find this helpful as a rough guide.