Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello there! Beginning Hohner Panther GCF melodeon player, have some questions.  (Read 907 times)

Istolethekeeshka

• New Starter

Hey everyone! I'm brand new to playing the melodeon and this is my first accordion overall (and I'm relatively new to music too, though I was raised on piano lessons from my grandma as a kid, so I have some knowledge of notes and whatnot, but have a limited understanding of sheet music and music theory overall), I've always wanted some kind of accordion as I'm mesmerized by how they sound and I happened to get one for Christmas surprisingly. I've been playing it for about 10 days now and I'm slowly beginning to memorize all the note locations and directions to pull the bellows in and what have you but I do slip up quite a bit...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rf2JSX3eDwI&feature=youtu.be

So I have some questions. Above is a video of me playing it attached. I have something of an awkward grip on the right hand side, and I am trying to transition from only having two fingers on the keyboard to using all, since I think such a grip is far from comfortable and I think I'd play it faster if I have all my fingers on the board... basically, I'd like to know the easiest way too loosen up and play faster!