Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: An American humbly begs advice on instruments he can't see in person  (Read 3221 times)

Luke Hillman

• MAD hatter
  • Good talker
  • Berkeley, CA
    • Anglo Piano

Howdy, everyone.

I've been playing a 2-row for a few years now and want to expand my options and branch out into different styles (my current repertoire is mainly English, but I like continental stuff). I'm fantasizing about getting a 2.5-row. As you know, here in the States, it's practically impossible to try before you buy, even more now that we're all quarantined. So, even though I know there's no substitution for first-hand experience, I find myself wanting some opinions...

I love the sound of the Saltarelles I've heard, particularly the Connemara III and Pastourelle III. To my ear they sound a little... growlier? More boisterous?—than the comparatively refined and mellow tone of the Castagnaris (looking mainly at the Mory). Of course, I'm mainly hearing them all through YouTube. Does this comparison sound accurate to those of you who've heard these instruments in person?

I think LMM voicing is the bee's knees, so I want to have that option. I realize this will mean a heavier box. I'd love to still be able to play standing up, but maybe this is an aspiration I should abandon. I find conflicting weights given on different sites. I assume that all the instruments I've mentioned thus far are roughly comparable. True?