Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to put sound and video together???  (Read 1435 times)

Peadar

How to put sound and video together???
« on: June 07, 2020, 10:35:35 PM »

For this month's Theme of the month I would like to do the music with a related video. Shooting the video was the easy bit....
Any absolute beginners advice on how to put a (different) sound track to an AVI file?
Or is this going to be like the lost traveller asking for directions and being told "If I wanted to go there I wouldn't start from here"?

playandteach

• Currently a music teacher in a high school.
Re: How to put sound and video together???
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2020, 12:21:32 AM »

I'd use Olive. I've been using it (free software in a trial stage - and actually very stable and intuitive).
It is dead easy to import files of different types and overlay them. You can delete audio separately from video with one click.
Serafini R2D2 GC, Serafini GC accs 18 bass

Howard Jones

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2020, 06:44:58 PM »

You will need to sync your audio track with the video.  Before you start playing, clap your hands together loudly, in camera shot.  This will show up as a big spike on the audio track, which you can match to the action on the video, or to the equivalent spike on the video player's audio track (which you can then delete or mute).  This is why film and TV productions use a clapper board.

Winston Smith

• AKA Edward Jennings
    • "Our Luxor B&B" Luxor life, slice by slice.
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2020, 07:28:30 PM »

Being a technophobe, I just use my compact camera. I load it to the laptop and using VLC, crop the start and finish and then load it up to YouTube.
At last, broken and resigned to accept conformity.
Oh, how I LOVE Big Brother!

Peadar

« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2020, 11:22:35 PM »