Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Adding drones  (Read 2988 times)

The Oul' Boy

• Respected Sage
Adding drones
« on: June 13, 2020, 12:21:41 PM »

Hi all,

I thought it was time to revisit Dave Mallinson's lesson in his Absolute Beginners book on adding drone bass to tunes (playing Speed the Plough, which I can play with oom-pah already). The instructions he gives are clear enough, and it will just take practice to get timings right, but the main problem I'm having is that when I drone a bass on my Pokerwork, it sounds like a fog-horn or cantankerous (if somewhat tuneful) goose, and totally dominates everything, whereas the 'snappy off-beat chords' sound quiet in comparison. Of course on Dave Mallinson's accompanying CD, it sounds fine, like a nice little 'toot' that blends in perfectly (of course, he's not playing a Pokerwork). Can anyone offer any thoughts on this experience?

Thanks,

Warren.
Warren M (Edinburgh, formerly Tyneside and Tyrone)
Hohner Pokerwork D/G

Theo

• Administrator
  • Hohner Club Too
    • The Box Place
Re: Adding drones
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2020, 12:27:25 PM »

Agreed Hohner basses are not the best for drones. You could try just using the chords, though I find that works best if you have no thirds in your chords.
Theo Gibb - Gateshead UK

Proprietor of The Box Place for melodeon and concertina sales and service.
Follow me on Twitter and Facebook for stock updates.

The Oul' Boy

• Respected Sage
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2020, 12:46:00 PM »

Agreed Hohner basses are not the best for drones. You could try just using the chords, though I find that works best if you have no thirds in your chords.