Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Stages of learning- my experience and what's next? How did your playing develop?  (Read 3770 times)

Blake

• Regular debater

Hi Folks, I've been playing D/G and C/G for about three years now.
I'm wondering if my learning trajectory is typical, and if so, what can I expect with continued practice? I play some other instruments and can read music

Early Beginner
Began with Pignol-Milleret, which felt like being thrown to the lions. My playing was halting, and I could absolutely not sight read the music on the instrument. Everything was labored head-scratching. My left hand only did the Bass-chord bass chord pattern

Beginner
Still not sight reading, but feeling more coordinated. I can play a small handful of tunes with a regular tempo. The keyboard is far from intuitive, and I feel a bit constipated playing. My bass at this point is still rudimentary.

Late Beginner
I find some tunes to do melodic studies with to try to make my playing stop sounding so halting. A tango by Delicq, and Fanny Poer help a lot. I begin to rely on tabs only most of the time, not all the time.

Beginning Intermediate
Bass is still disappointingly simple. I take some lessons and develop the metronome habit with helps. Lessons also teach me to keep the treble end stationary.

Intermediate, where I think I am now
I can sight read simple tunes without tabs. I know a couple different basslines. I can fiddle with an accent note or play in thirds here and there. I'm playing some Delicq tunes and Andy Cutting tunes at tempo, working on expressiveness.

What comes next? I feel that being able to sightread and that I am developing a more intuitive relationship with the keyboard has been a long, long time coming, but will be rewarding.
Castagnari Benny GC#, Mory DG#, Geordy GC, Mignon C