Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help please! with 6/8 time signature  (Read 1621 times)

arty

Help please! with 6/8 time signature
« on: August 03, 2020, 09:49:31 PM »

I am hoping someone can help me. I am just starting to learn a few Playford tunes and I notice that several are written in 6/8 time.

The first tune I am learning is 'Heart's Ease', which is simple enough but, I am having difficulty in knowing how to fit the basses in. Part of me wants to count 1, 2, 1, 2 but I know it must be 1,2,3,4,5,6.

Listening to many different versions on YouTube, some are really slow and others seem to go at quite a speed. If it was to be played, even at a moderate speed, surely one doesn't play a bass on each of the 6 beats? That would sound very cumbersome, wouldn't it?

Could someone tell me which beats to play a bass on?

For those interested, here is a version fromYouTube:  https://youtu.be/ZTNhCdHlMpo

Thank you!
Pre-Pokerwork C/F, Castagnari Laura G/C, Beltuna Sara 3 A/D, Castagnari Sander Special D/G

Eshed

• Respected Sage
Re: Help please! with 6/8 time signature
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2020, 09:54:06 PM »

Jigs are 6/8 and the version you linked sounds like it would work as a jig, so Bass on 1,4 and chord on 3,6.
Do you have a Hohner from 1934-1945 with a serial number on?
Send me a private message or comment on the German Accordion Problem spreadsheet to improve the statistics of the project and get an estimate of the production date of the box if it is not known.

arty

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2020, 10:03:49 PM »

Jigs are 6/8 and the version you linked sounds like it would work as a jig, so Bass on 1,4 and chord on 3,6.

Right - thank you very much, I shall try that slowly tomorrow. I guess you get a feel for it after a while.
Cheers Eshed!