Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Swearing in Church  (Read 3898 times)

Little Eggy

Swearing in Church
« on: August 05, 2020, 11:26:50 AM »

I’ve been playing for about four years and still struggle, when learning new tunes, with matching the dots with the keys.  To speed things up I’ve attached little strips of paper to the keyboard, with the notes aligned to each key.  This has worked very well, especially when switching between my 3rd button start and 4th button start boxes.   Please don’t howl in protest or derision.  I know all the reasons why this is a “bad thing” to do. 

I was wondering if any boxes are made with the notes printed beside the keys, or even on the keys of boxes with larger buttons?   

Rob2Hook

• Castagnaris, Hohners & Baffetti
Re: Swearing in Church
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2020, 12:15:12 PM »

One can justify this by giving the example of a Bandonion, they have their own kind of "tab" - a symbol from an alphabet all their own which is impressed into the board alongside each button.  Mind you, if you've ever taken a look at the layout of a bandonion, you can understand why such labelling is needed for at least the first decade of learning it...

I've never seen a melodeon with the buttons labelled apart from efforts by their owners.  Surely there is a complication in that each button has to be labelled for both push and pull?  I did see one which had the actual buttons labeled with marker pen, which has the advantage that they will eventually wear off.  Otherwise your paper labelling if done in full length strips and computer printed could at least be done quite neatly, just needs to be affixed with Pritt stick to avoid damaging the finish.

Rob.

Julian S

• D/G Pastourelle 2, Dony, Pokerwork, G/C Pariselle
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2020, 12:21:38 PM »