Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HOW TO PRACTICE?  (Read 4446 times)

John C

• Regular debater
HOW TO PRACTICE?
« on: December 21, 2009, 10:53:27 PM »

I'm feeling a bit aimless and need some direction!

When I play/practice I play from music and go through a book(s) playing one tune after the other.   I know I'm making some progress but I'm not particularly fluent with any particular tune.

I'm not good at memorizing tunes and don't feel I can start at this stage in my life.

Are you playing tunes in general and trusting that one day "the light goes on" and you become fluent with some of the pieces - OR are you hammering away at the same tune time and time again until its burnt into your brain and fingers - which is something I find difficult to do.

I have included playing scales in my practice and I don't find that boring

Any feedback would be appreciated

Saltarelle Laurentide GCF, Saltarelle Cheviot ADG

michik

• Respected Sage
Re: HOW TO PRACTICE?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 11:36:09 PM »

First ... I am listening _actively_ to quite a lot of music, which I'm playing ...
that helps to get an idea about how the tunes are played (rythm, dynamics, groove...)

When I start learning a tune, first I try to learn the melody (treble side only) slowly, neglecting regular rythm and pace.
In a second step I add the basses. If the bases are known, before I reverse these two steps sometimes.

Important: Avoid mistakes. If you do the same mistake again, reduce speed.  
For the brain there is no right or wrong, the brain learns only that, what are you repeat again and again, even if it is 'wrong'.

In a third step I try to keep rythm/speed/groove, with counting the bars, sometimes using a metronome.
Learn to count (1-2-3 or 1-and-2-and-3-and, ...) while playing, this helps quite a lot.