Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Easy jig tunes for an Irish session  (Read 14067 times)

nemethmik

Easy jig tunes for an Irish session
« on: January 14, 2010, 08:03:45 AM »

I've learned a hadful of great and easy to play jigs from Maggie More book 1: Blaydon Races, Cock O' the North, The Lincolnshire Poacher, and Oyster Girl.
Soon we're having a session with musicians playing mostly Irish tunes. I'd like to learn three or four easy jigs that are well known for "Irish session" musicians, too (I'd like to avoid playing solo).
I think Cock O' the North is perfect tune for Irish sessions.
I found a couple of Irish jigs in Dave Mallinson's "The D/G Melodeon Absolute Beginners" book: Tripping Upstairs and My Darling Asleep ("a difficult tune for experienced musicians" wrote Dave); both are found in the "advanced section" in the book.
Could you recommend simple Irish jigs?
Thank You,
Miki

Theo

• Administrator
  • Hohner Club Too
    • The Box Place
Re: Easy jig tunes for an Irish session
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2010, 08:30:39 AM »

Out in the Ocean
The Old Favourite

would be my suggestions.  Easy to play but great tunes both of them.

BTW there is not much doubt that Cock O' the North is a Scottish tune though it may well fit in well in Irish sessions.
Theo Gibb - Gateshead UK

Proprietor of The Box Place for melodeon and concertina sales and service.
Follow me on Twitter and Facebook for stock updates.

Bob Ellis

• Hero?....Where's my medal, then?
  • Ain't I cute?
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2010, 10:02:29 AM »

You might try pairing The Oyster Girl with The Road to Carlow, which is an easy tune. If you are not already familiar with it, The Road to Carlow is identical with the B and C parts of The Sweets of May - you just leave out the A part.