Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: 'Voices' & 'Tunings'?  (Read 5582 times)

Steelarts

• Good talker
'Voices' & 'Tunings'?
« on: July 22, 2010, 11:06:55 AM »

Hi there, thanks to everyone who answered my other questions in another thread; it's certainly given me a lot to think about.  There certainly seems to be no one answer as to what makes the perfect squeeze-box and a lot seems to be down to individual tastes and/or perception of sound (which is probably why there are so many different boxes for sale).  I also explained in the other thread how my primary interest is morris/English with perhaps a leaning towards some Irish session stuff and this hasn't changed  but I do have another couple of questions that I hope someone can help me with.

As I said before, I'm very new to this world of melodeons but I'm finding it very exciting and I think research and understanding of the subject will help me when it comes to choosing my next box. My first question (and I do hope I don't sound too stupid) is about 'voices' and 'tunings'.  Could someone please explain what is meant by the amount of 'voices'?  I see ads for boxes with 1, 2 and 3 voices, could you tell me what the pros and cons (advantages or disadvantages) of having more or less voices?  Also, could someone please explain the different tunings e.g. wet, dry, swing, semi-swing, etc.

Our side was out dancing the other night and I finally took notice of what our melodeon player (as opposed to the usual accordion players) was playing.  He has a lovely sounding old Excelsior box which sounds totally different to a Pokerwork.  It sounds much punchier/tighter if that's the right description.