Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Checking your box is in tune  (Read 1649 times)

Thrupenny Bit

• happily squeezing away in Devon
Checking your box is in tune
« on: August 12, 2010, 08:59:36 PM »

I'm new to this melodeon lark, and I was chatting to a friend recently about the tuning of them. He seemed concerned that some are not in tune with other free reed instruments ( not quite sure what he meant ) , and sometimes they can sound sharp against - say - my concertina if playing in a session. I can't really play both instruments at the same time ( yet!) so....
In between bashing away with my newly acquired box, in an idle moment I switched on my daughter's flute tuner, it's a Korg Chromatic Tuner CA-30.
From my concertina knowledge, I presume melodeons are tuned around A440?
I set my tuner to this and played scales, and it seemed fine, the notes pretty much spot on sometimes a slight flutter around the centre mark but nothing indicating sharp or flat.......
is there anything else it's be worth me checking?
just an idle thought..........
cheers
TB
Thrupenny Bit

I think I'm starting to get most of the notes in roughly the right order...... sometimes!

HallelujahAl

Re: Checking your box is in tune
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2010, 09:32:04 PM »

Nope - you've about covered it I think. Blame the others if there's any dis-harmony  ;D

Thrupenny Bit

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2010, 09:34:19 AM »

ok....thanks
TB
Thrupenny Bit

I think I'm starting to get most of the notes in roughly the right order...... sometimes!

Steve_freereeder

• Content Manager
  • MAD is inevitable. Keep Calm and Carry On
    • Lizzie Dripping
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2010, 11:06:41 AM »

In between bashing away with my newly acquired box, in an idle moment I switched on my daughter's flute tuner, it's a Korg Chromatic Tuner CA-30.