Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone playing Steierische Harmonika?  (Read 10900 times)

Ziachmusi/Louise

• Respected Sage
Anyone playing Steierische Harmonika?
« on: April 18, 2008, 12:55:03 PM »

I've lived in Bavaria for about 20 years and recently decided I'd like to learn some kind of instrument. I needed something fairly easy as I have no musical background at all. I was recommended the Steierische Harmonica (Alpine melodeon) and learning by TAB (griffschrift) I'm progressing OK. The thing is learning by tab means I can't play by note music and tunes available in griffschrift are all Bavarian / Austrian / south German music, which are of course great but I'd like to play other folks music too. I've got a Strasser ADG 3 row. The DG rows seems fairly similar to a DG Melodeon but have one unisonic button per row, on the A row all buttons are diatonic and I have 11 bass buttons. Any suggestion how I could get started on notes etc - and what do I do with the Bass buttons?

sCANdanADIAN

• Regular debater
Re: Anyone playing Steierische Harmonika?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 09:30:09 PM »

I don't play a Steierische but wish I had one and I like the music. I do play a C/F club which is similar in that it has the unisonsonric C note on the F-row.I can play a bit of Slovenian and German music which is often played on a C/F/Bb instrument.

If you can arrange your tab notation to account for the Gleiton you should be able to play other styles of music.You can take advantage steierische tuning and not  have to reach for the A reversal like I have to on my A/D/G corona.Most British and North American fiddle tunes are in the keys you have so there's lots to choose from.

Chris

Gerard374

• Good talker
    • http://www.ggms.nl
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2008, 10:11:35 PM »