Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tuning conundrum solved  (Read 2499 times)

RGF

• Regular debater
Tuning conundrum solved
« on: June 24, 2008, 05:25:55 AM »

Hi, all.

I've been doing a bit of refurbishing on an old red Hohner G/C Erica, including a complete retuning to a somewhat drier sound. I'm a relative beginner at tuning, but I've done maybe a dozen or so, mostly piano accordions up until now, and I'm confident enough to at least work on my own instruments. But this is the first such puzzle I've encountered, and it took me a looonng time to stumble on the answer.

The problem was primarily with the D4 reeds. I'd tuned them to their proper relative pitches, and the beating rate was right in line with their neighbors. But there was a strange "wah-wah" kind of sound that I can only describe as a fluctuation in volume, as if the frequency of the beat was correct, but the amplitude was too great. I replaced the valves and rewaxed the reeds and checked the tuning again, but the problem was still there.

In desperation, I substituted new reeds, and tuned once again. I'm using Dirk's tuner, which enables you to sound both reeds simultaneously in the accordion - Neither reed was off by more than a few of tenths of a cent, and the deviation from the target beat rate was less than .1 herz. But still that thrumming kind of volume thing going on. So at this point I'm left concluding that there's perhaps some strange resonance going on with the instrument itself, but what?