Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hip Pain  (Read 1943 times)

Daddy Long Les

• Forum Librarian
    • Daddy Long Les
Hip Pain
« on: May 27, 2011, 12:22:59 PM »

>:(This might be completely unrelated to my melodeon playing but............

I started learning to play the melodeon this week and I'm absolutely addicted to it. My problem is that I've noticed that I'm getting quite a lot of hip pain and wondered if it could be linked to my melodeon practice.  I play sitting down and use two straps.  I'm probably playing for too long at a time but you know how the time flies by when you're trying to get something down.  It might be the endless pushing and pulling - I'm not opening the bellows much at this stage as I don't want to drive everyone round the twist with this.

The other consideration is that I am 58 - fairly fit but you never know what's around the corner!

Anyone got any thoughts on this or experienced similar?

Many Thanks

Les
Castagnari Lily DG, Dino Baffetti Binci DG, Hohner Erica DG, Hohner Erica GC, Hohner Liliput Bb Eb, Sybilla Brand GCF, Hohner Compadre ADG, Hohner 4 stop in C

Theo

• Administrator
  • Hohner Club Too
    • The Box Place
Re: Hip Pain
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 01:07:17 PM »

Just checking that you are working the bellows with your arms, not your knees? :o ;D ;D
Theo Gibb - Gateshead UK

Proprietor of The Box Place for melodeon and concertina sales and service.
Follow me on Twitter and Facebook for stock updates.

Daddy Long Les

• Forum Librarian
    • Daddy Long Les
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2011, 01:21:52 PM »

I know I'm a beginner but I'm not that thick!! It was worth you checking though because you never know!! ;D ;D ;)