Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Preventing bass side hand slip  (Read 4710 times)

Flanna

• Prêtresse
  • Regular debater
  • Groupe electro folk aux sorcières "Flanna O'Tara"
Preventing bass side hand slip
« on: June 26, 2011, 09:35:24 AM »

I'm new to melodeon with my previous box experience being on English concertina and CBA. I am finding that my bass side hand slips about quite a lot (I'm left handed so it is my right hand that is slipping on the bass side of the box). I already have the bass strap adjusted as tightly as it can be without restricting the movement needed to reach all the buttons.

Of course this would never be an issue with an English concertina. My CBA, however, is much bigger and heavier than my melodeon and I never have a problem with hand slipping. This only happens with the melodeon. I am guessing that it has something to do with the frequent bellows reversals that are a big part of melodeon playing.

Can anyone advise me how to prevent this slipping of the hand?
Yvus Pyrénées D/G ~ Wheatstone English Concertina ~ S-Wave Midi Concertina ~ Roland FR3B ~ Axis 64 ~ Roland Synthesizers

Steve_freereeder

• Content Manager
  • MAD is inevitable. Keep Calm and Carry On
    • Lizzie Dripping
Re: Preventing bass side hand slip
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2011, 11:35:06 AM »

This question has been asked before on this forum, with various replies from different people, some advocating weird and wonderful additional wrist straps, with varying degrees of success.

If you play with the axis of your bellows more or less horizontal, gravity will inevitably mean that your left hand tends to slip higher up the strap.