Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bellows - speed up changes  (Read 3849 times)

Aiberdeen Loon

Bellows - speed up changes
« on: August 20, 2011, 04:34:24 PM »

As a relative beginner I am having difficulties with getting smooth and fast bellows changes, particularly in the middle of runs in jigs and reels.

I have no problems with right hand fingering but the bellows are a big issue.  I play fiddle and mandolin in sessions and my left hand fingers have no problem keeping up but the left arm/bellows on the melodeon are another thing altogether!

Can anyone suggest practice routines or techniques that I can work on please?

rees

• Windjammer
    • Wesson Accordions
Re: Bellows - speed up changes
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2011, 06:59:18 PM »

Using one finger on one button, e.g. G/A. Play G push, take your finger off, play A pull, take your finger off. Play G push take your finger off, A, G, A, ad infinitum.
Repeat for weeks on end gradually increasing speed until the transition between notes is smooth and even.
It helps to imagine a partially inflated football or balloon inside the bellows and you are bouncing the air against the pressure.
It's a technique that takes a while to establish but, like riding a bike, once you can do it, you have it for good. :||: :||:
Rees Wesson (accordion builder and mechanic)
Gungrog, Welshpool, Wales, UK
www.melodeons.com

LDbosca

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2011, 08:16:44 PM »

Using one finger on one button, e.g. G/A. Play G push, take your finger off, play A pull, take your finger off. Play G push take your finger off, A, G, A, ad infinitum.
Repeat for weeks on end gradually increasing speed until the transition between notes is smooth and even.