Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: An absolute beginner writes  (Read 2143 times)

Bricklayer

• New Starter
  • An absolute beginner
An absolute beginner writes
« on: September 07, 2011, 12:44:23 PM »

just a line or two to introduce an absolute beginner. I have suddenly after many years of not playing anything except a packing case and broomstick bass in the skiffle era found an instrument I get on with. I have a one row Regal with one note not playing and a Commander, also one row with two notes not playing. It may not be a good place to start but its where I am!

Any advice/suggestions/comments welcome especially from anyone in the Worcester area.

Nigel
javascript:void(0);

Pete Dunk

• Typo Expert
Re: An absolute beginner writes
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2011, 01:22:58 PM »

Hello Nigel welcome to the forum.  (:)

You may be lucky and find someone on here who's fairly local to you that's willing to open up your boxes and find out why the notes aren't playing, or maybe we can talk you through investigating it yourself.

Pete.
Squeezing on the Isle of Oxney, UK
Primo (Serenellini) D/G
Isis D/G
Hohner B/E, G/C, C/F, Bb/Eb G/C/F
Liliputs D/G (G scale), C/F, Bb/Eb, Albrecht Custom D/G (G scale)

Bricklayer

• New Starter
  • An absolute beginner
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2011, 11:02:04 AM »

hi Pete
Thanks for that. I have had both boxes to pieces to try to reduce the leakages twixt box and bellows and was partially successful, using some green baize salvaged from a pool table (I am sure that's not the ideal material but a) its free, and b) it was possible to cut it so as to be a continuous gasket.